> How KCP Came to Be

>

In the Beginning…
I moved to Colorado a month after graduating, and though I missed my St. Louis past, I was so excited to share my present life in the mountains with everyone. I started a blog, to post my adventures in my new home. I was shooting everywhere I went, and couldn’t get enough of the mountains (let’s be honest, I don’t know if I’ll ever get enough of these mountains).

What’s in a Name
The name of the blog came from a photography quote that always hits home for me: “Beauty can be seen in all things; seeing and composing the beauty is what separates the snapshot from the photograph.” – Matt Hardy. Everyone and their brother takes pictures these days. And why shouldn’t they? It’s fun! But Mr. Hardy touched on a point that I always hold on to. The setting may be absolutely gorgeous all around, but to be able to compose it in a constrained rectangular (or sometimes even better, square) frame takes some real thought and creativity. Compose. Composition. Composure…

Fun Puns
A play on words, Keeping Composure refers to keeping a good composition within a frame. More appropriately, it’s important to maintain a good attitude and mood during photo shoots – both photographer and subject(s). Weddings get hectic; it’s important to stay relaxed to keep a bride calm. Family portraits are fun and chaotic; to corral a bunch of people takes patience on everybody’s part. You get the Picture. Consider it a play on words. And Shoot, after all, photography sure Lens itself to some puns here and there…

Now What?
So that was all fine and dandy. But in the end, it was just a blog. And I was getting antsy to start doing more with what I studied. I didn’t move to Colorado to be a heating & cooling receptionist or work in resort guest services forever. Photography was – is – my passion. I don’t feel like I’m at work when I’m shooting. So I decided to officially create a business with the same name as my blog, Keeping Composure Photography.

Work
The rest has been… a journey, to say the least. An exciting, stressful, confusing, fun, challenging, rewarding journey! Incredible highs and unbelievable lows [link to “A Bumpy Road post]. A large learning curve. I’ve learned a lot about people, a lot about myself and a little about business (that’s still and always a work-in-progress). But it’s all work that I can’t get enough of and wish I had more time for. Work that’s not “work” – sounds good to me.

Leave a Reply

